Skip to content

Have your teachers send in papers

November 17, 2015

Sixth International Conference on Immersion and Dual Language Education:

Connecting Research and Practice Across Contexts

October 20–22, 2016
Hyatt Regency Hotel
Minneapolis, MN

Immersion and dual language education continue to evolve as highly effective program models for launching students on the road to bi- and multilingualism and intercultural competence. School-based immersion, bilingual, and dual language programs involve a minimum of 50% subject-matter schooling through a second, world, heritage, or indigenous language at the preschool and elementary levels (PreK–5/6). Secondary or post-secondary continuation programs for elementary immersion/dual language graduates include a minimum of two subject courses.

Program models include:

  • One-Way Second/Foreign Language Immersion
  • Co-Official/Regional Language Immersion
  • Two-Way Bilingual Immersion
  • One-Way Developmental Bilingual Education
  • Indigenous Language Immersion

While each model targets distinct sociocultural contexts and educational needs, all embrace language, literacy, and culture development through subject-matter learning with a high degree of language intensity. Under the leadership of the Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA), University of Minnesota, the  Sixth International Conference on Immersion and Dual Language Education will bring these models together to engage in research-informed dialogue and professional exchange across languages, levels, learner audiences, and contexts.


Conference Speakers

  • Ellen BialystokYork University, Toronto, Canada
  • Patricia C. GándaraUniversity of California – Los Angeles, USA
  • Tina M. HickeyUniversity College Dublin, Ireland
  • Patsy LightbownConcordia University, Montreal, Canada
  • Teresa L. McCarty, University of California – Los Angeles, USA

Call for Proposals is now open!

Submit your proposal for the Immersion 2016 Conference. Full details are available on the Call for Proposals webpage.
The deadline is Feb 1, 2016. 

More Information


Conference Planning Committee

Conference Planning Committee Co-Chairs
Diane J. Tedick, University of Minnesota
Roy Lyster, McGill University

Conference Planning Committee Members 
Siv Björklund, University of Vaasa
Teresa Carranza, Madison Metropolitan School District
Lisa Dorner, University of Missouri-Columbia
Helga Fasciano, NC Department of Public Instruction
Tara Fortune, University of Minnesota
Liz Hathaway Castelán, Saint Paul Public Schools
Xiao Liu, Delaware Department of Education
Brian McInnes, University of Minnesota-Duluth
Mandy Menke, University of Minnesota
Deborah Palmer, University of Texas-Austin
Ping Peng, Minnetonka Public Schools
Isabelle Punchard, Edina Public Schools
Nadja Trez, NC Department of Public Instruction
Ofelia Wade, Utah State Office of Education

Conference Administrative Team
Marlene Johnshoy, Technology Coordinator
Liz Hellebuyck, Program Associate
Karin Larson, CARLA Coordinator
Erin Szabo, Graduate Assistant

Conference Sponsors
The conference is sponsored by the Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA) at the University of Minnesota with partial funding from the U.S. Department of Education’s Title VI Language Resource Center program.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: